Top Checkouts of 2021

Curious what northern Lebanon County was reading over the past year? We’re sharing the top checkouts of 2021 at Matthews Public Library! Read on to see if you’ve already read what everyone else was reading—or to find new titles to add to your To Be Read list.

Top Fiction Checkouts

If you read and loved any of these titles, we’re also sharing some readalikes—or similar titles that read like each top checkout.

1. The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

The Midnight Library: A Novel: Haig, Matt: 9780525559474: Amazon.com: Books

Request It | Request the eBook or the Downloadable Audiobook

Try these science fiction/fantasy readalikes:

The Brief History of the Dead by Kevin Brockmeier

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

Oona Out of Order by Margarita Montimoor


2. The Paris Library: A Novel by Janet Skeslien Charles

Amazon.com: The Paris Library: A Novel: 9781982134198: Charles, Janet  Skeslien: Books

Request It | Request the eBook

Try these historical fiction readalikes:

The Lions of Fifth Avenue by Fiona Davis

The Book of Lost Names by Kristin Harmel

Crossings: Consisting of Three Manuscripts by Alex Landragin


3. The Guest List: A Novel by Lucy Foley

Amazon.com: The Guest List: A Novel: 9780062868930: Foley, Lucy: Books

Request It | Request the eBook or the Downloadable Audiobook

Try these suspense thriller readalikes:

The Last: A Novel by Hanna Jameson

In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

Go To My Grave: A Novel by Catriona McPherson


4. No Way Out by Fern Michaels

No Way Out: A Gripping Novel of Suspense: Michaels, Fern: 9781496731180:  Amazon.com: Books

Request It 

Try these mystery readalikes:

Gwendy’s Button Box by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar

Survive The Night: A Novel by Riley Sager

This Is How I Lied by Heather Gudenkauf


5. The Push: A Novel by Ashley Audrain

Amazon.com: The Push: A Novel: 9781984881663: Audrain, Ashley: Books

Request It | Request the eBook or the Downloadable Audiobook

Try these psychological suspense readalikes:

The Good Sister by Sally Hepworth

Defending Jacob: A Novel by William Landay

Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage


6. Double Jeopardy by Stuart Woods

Amazon.com: Double Jeopardy (A Stone Barrington Novel): 9780593188385: Woods,  Stuart: Books

Request It

Try these suspense thriller readalikes:

Adrenaline by Jeff Abbot

Lost Hills by Lee Goldberg

The Innocent by David Baldacci


7. Firefly Lane: A Novel by Kristin Hannah

Firefly Lane – Book Clubs – Kristin Hannah

Request It | Request the eBook

Try these relationship fiction readalikes:

First Comes Love by Emily Giffin

Surprise Me by Sophie Kinsella

The Friendship List by Susan Mallery


8. The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue: Schwab, V. E.: 9780765387561:  Amazon.com: Books

Request It | Request the eBook

Try these historical fantasy readalikes:

Life After Life: A Novel by Kate Atkinson

How To Stop Time by Matt Haig

The Bear And The Nightingale: A Novel by Katherine Arden


9. The Newcomer by Mary Kay Andrews

The Newcomer: A Novel: Andrews, Mary Kay: 9781250256966: Amazon.com: Books

Request It

Try these romantic suspense readalikes:

Finlay Donovan Is Killing It by Elle Cosimano

The Last Thing He Told Me: A Novel by Laura Dave

When The Stars Go Dark: A Novel by Paula McLain*


 10. Piece Of My Heart by Mary Higgins Clark and Alafair Burke

Piece of My Heart (Under Suspicion): Clark, Mary Higgins, Burke, Alafair:  9781982132545: Amazon.com: Books

Request It | Request the eBook

Try these plot-driven mystery readalikes:

The Bad Place by M.K. Hill

No Cure For Love by Peter Robinson

Thin Ice: A Mystery by Paige Shelton


*This book was a Staff Pick!


And the Top Five Non-Fiction Checkouts of 2021

1. The Rise And Fall Of The Dinosaurs: A New History Of A Lost World by Stephen Brusatte

The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs: A New History of a Lost World  Illustrated, Brusatte, Steve - Amazon.com

Request It


2. The Obesity Code: Unlocking The Secrets Of Weight Loss by Jason Fung, M.D.

The Obesity Code: Unlocking the Secrets of Weight Loss (Why Intermittent  Fasting Is the Key to Controlling Your Weight) - Kindle edition by Fung,  Dr. Jason, Noakes, Timothy. Health, Fitness & Dieting

Request It | Request the eBook


3. Atomic Habits: Tiny Changes, Remarkable Results: An Easy & Proven Way To Build Good Habits & Break Bad Ones by James Clear

Atomic Habits: An Easy & Proven Way to Build Good Habits & Break Bad Ones:  Clear, James: 9780735211292: Amazon.com: Books

Request It | Request the eBook


4. Into the Abyss: An Extraordinary True Story by Carol Shaben

Into the Abyss: An Extraordinary True Story: Shaben, Carol: 9781455501960:  Amazon.com: Books

Request It


5. A Promised Land by Barack Obama

A Promised Land: OBAMA, BARACK: 9780241491515: Amazon.com: Books

Request It | Request the Downloadable Audiobook

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.